Resource Center

High School Four Course Model

The High School Four Course Model is based on the Science Domains Model (from Appendix K in NGSS) in which one course is assigned to each domain of the NRC Framework: Life Science (LS), Physical Science (PS), and Earth and Space Science (ESS). The PS performance expectations have been further sub-divided to define a chemistry course and a physics course.

Links to grade level standards:

Life Science/Biology



Earth and Space Sciences

* is a registered trademark of Achieve. Neither Achieve nor the lead states and partners that developed the Next Generation Science Standards was involved in the production of, and does not endorse, this product.